Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: electric shower question
AndyW

posted on 16/10/11 at 08:54 AM Reply With Quote
electric shower question

Hi All,

I have an electric shower. In the bathroom is a ceiling mounted isolator switch. This has packed up. Now I had been told by an electician that he would not bother with the isolator switch as the shower is on its own seperate spur and fuse in the consumer unit. He suggested removing the pull cord and just connect the wires in a connection box.

Is this right? Do I have to have an isolator or can I just rely on the consumer unit?

Thanks

Andy

RAYLEE29

posted on 16/10/11 at 09:23 AM Reply With Quote
Hi, im not an electrician but if it was mine i would replace like for like the switch wont be that expensive.
I know that in most shower installation instructions it says about having a two pole isolator
sure someone more knowledgeable will be along soon
Ray

build diary1
http://picasaweb.google.com/raylee290/RoadsterPics#
build diary2
http://picasaweb.google.com/raylee290/KITCARPICS?authkey=Gv1sRgCI2AouyYgpuQmAE#

tegwin

posted on 16/10/11 at 09:30 AM Reply With Quote
You can get a double pole isolator switch with indicator for about £7.... I personally would (and have) fit another one.

There is a LOT of power going into that shower, its always nice to know you have a way of isolating it in an emergency. (electric showers have been known to go into melt-down)

Seeings as the wiring/back-box etc is already there, I would suggest putting another switch in....

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Would the last person who leaves the country please switch off the lights and close the door!

www.verticalhorizonsmedia.tv

Dusty

posted on 16/10/11 at 09:42 AM Reply With Quote