Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: OT - Career Advice Needed
beagley

posted on 20/3/12 at 05:06 PM Reply With Quote
OT - Career Advice Needed

Alright fellow locosters...... I need some of your expertise. I am a software developer by trade and have an upcoming interview.

I currently have a good job. Have been here 5 years, am very happy, like the people I work with. The pay is on the low end of the spectrum, but SWMBO and I are good with our money so we're not hurting. of course I would like to make more, but not a huge deal at this point of our lives. My problem is that my current employer uses a software development environment that is fairly old and I am concerned about my future. At the ripe old age of 30 I have AT LEAST 35 to 40 years left of employment. My fear is that if I stay where I am I will put myself out of the available pool because I will fall technologically behind.

I recently applied for a .NET Developer position somewhere and they have called me in for an interview. PURELY speculation at this point, but if that goes well and I am offered a position I will most likely be taking it because I feel it protects our futures a bit more than where I am. With that said, here is my question.

How do I gracefully exit my current position without burning any bridges or creating any unnecessary turmoil?

I know not to throw anybody under the bus or speak negatively about my current employer. I definitely won't be doing that as I currently enjoy my job and like it here. I would think my boss would understand my reasons for leaving, probably won't like that I'm contemplating leaving, but at least understand it.

Any advice.....???

I'm not scared!!! I'm just marking my territory.

daviep

posted on 20/3/12 at 05:10 PM Reply With Quote
I think you answered your own question, just be honest.

Cheers
Davie

“A truly great library contains something in it to offend everyone.”

Ninehigh