Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Stupid Question Alert! - De Dion
Chris Green

posted on 4/9/04 at 10:06 AM Reply With Quote
Stupid Question Alert! - De Dion

ok, I'm a bit of a novice to all this stuff, so bear with me!

What is a De Dion? I hear the name popping up all the time, but can't find info on them anywhere?

The search engines just direct me to dax if I search for De Dion?

Thanks a lot!

Chris.

chrisg

posted on 4/9/04 at 10:20 AM Reply With Quote
It's a cross between a live axle and an independant set-up.

You have the trailing arms as in the book connected to a tube axle and hubs.

The differential is attached to the chassis and the drive shafts do not run inside the tube.

The axle is usually kinked backwards to avoid the diff.

I'll try to find a picture.

Cheers

Chris

Note to all: I really don't know when to leave well alone. I tried to get clever with the mods, then when they gave me a lifeline to see the error of my ways, I tried to incite more trouble via u2u. So now I'm banned, never to return again. They should have done it years ago!

Mikey G

posted on 4/9/04 at 02:15 PM Reply With Quote
It combines the advantages of Liveaxle setup with IRS unsprung weight as the diff is in a fixed position.
A live axle can be bouncy and skittish over rough surfaces as it is a very heavy item, it wants to do its own thing then! but the DeDion setup puts less load on springs and dampers to keep your rear driving wheels on the ground and in contact with the black stuff

Mikey G

posted on 4/9/04 at 02:17 PM Reply With Quote
Found a piccy

Mike

carcentric

posted on 4/9/04 at 05:26 PM Reply With Quote
Isn't there usually a sleeve in the crosstube somewhere that allows changes in rear track width as one or both wheels move up and down?

Some folks have said the rear suspension on my hardtail CX500 trike project is deDion, but it's different in these ways:
- it starts with a swing axle rather than IRS,