Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: First track day?
Sierra

posted on 1/7/13 at 09:22 AM Reply With Quote
First track day?

Hi all I've finally finished modifying my tiger Avon so that I can drive it so now want to get some practice with it and enjoy it.
I've never been on a track/airfield before and this is my first type 7 car so I'm a real beginner.
What would you guys advise I do first as I don't trust myself on track with others as I don't have a clue what I'm doing.
Is there such a thing as going to an airfield and someone teaching you the basics? Also someone to test my car to say if its setup correctly.
I'm in the Hertfordshire area.

Davegtst

posted on 1/7/13 at 09:28 AM Reply With Quote
My missus bought me a taster track day at Rockingham. I haven't been yet but it sounds like it should be a good way to get into it.
Davey D

posted on 1/7/13 at 09:36 AM Reply With Quote
You can pay for tuition on a track day.

I think you would be best for your first few times to do an airfield trackday, or somewhere like Blyton park, as there is lots of runoff, and no armco barriers to smash into.

Overtaking is only on the straights, so just keep an eye on traffic approaching from the rear, and pull over to let them past. It isn't a race, so just go at a pace you are comfy with

Slimy38

posted on 1/7/13 at 09:46 AM Reply With Quote
Personally I wouldn't be too worried about being on track with others, I've heard very few horror stories about beginners being 'scared off'. You just concentrate on your own drive and build up your speed during the course of the day. As mentioned, there are strict rules for track days and you can be fairly safe in the knowledge that no-one wants a black flag or a ban spoiling their fun.