Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: MT 75 Quickshift
Pfw

posted on 24/2/14 at 03:57 PM Reply With Quote
MT 75 Quickshift

Hi all

Anyone fitted the above to their gearbox, and do you have a how to guide ?? my box is in the car (Zero) so am presuming this is a right pain of a job

turnipfarmer

posted on 24/2/14 at 10:12 PM Reply With Quote
I've got a Zero with an MT75 box, and used the GBS quickshift.

I fitted it OK with the box & propshaft still in the car. Bit fiddly, but nothing more than that.
It goes in via the top of the transmission tunnel. Then it's just a matter of winkling into position, up & round the propshaft.

HTH

Pfw

posted on 25/2/14 at 07:04 AM Reply With Quote
Thanks for that, as i am fairly new to the spanners, can i ask a couple of questions...

Do yoiu have to line gears up etc ?

Do you need special tools ?

and obviously....is it worth doing ?

Thanks again

turnipfarmer

posted on 25/2/14 at 10:15 AM Reply With Quote
Nope - no lining up the gears or special tools needed. It just bolts straight onto the outside of the box.

Definitely worth doing. Like many people, I found the Ford saddle affair makes the gearchange a bit vague . This makes it much more precise. Does away with the 'lift for reverse' business as well.

Remove any existing saddle assembly, and also the 4 bolts on the gearbox where the quickshift attaches.
(see the 4th pic on this link... http://www.kitspares.co.uk/shop/item.php?product=8901)

Assemble the entire quickshift (if it isn't already) & drop the whole lot into the centre of the tunnel, under/alongside the propshaft.

Work it forwards to the back of the gearbox, then up and over the propshaft (this is the fiddly bit).