Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Lightened flywheels, worthwhile?
sdh2903

posted on 19/10/15 at 07:06 PM Reply With Quote
Lightened flywheels, worthwhile?

I've never used a lightened flywheel before and they are very popular for my donor MX5 1.8 engine. Now googling brings up various good reviews and also bad with reports of engine bogging at low revs etc. I am planning on a little N/A tuning and wondered if a lightened flywheel would complement this? Are the reports of engine bogging as noticeable in such a lightweight car?

There are varying weights available with some radically lightened and some more moderate, the general consensus being a 10lb flywheel (down from stock 20lb) seems to be the middle ground of choice.

Any opinions from the collective if a lightened fly is a worthwhile purchase for a 7?

r1_pete

posted on 19/10/15 at 07:22 PM Reply With Quote
I've one in the E Type, the engine is more lively, but, at tick over there is a considerable rattle from the gearbox due to the flywheel not smoothing out the pulses as effectively as a stock one, its not a faulty box, its a rebuilt 5 speed Getrag.

If I ever need to split the engine and box I would put the stock flywheel back in.

[Edited on 19/10/15 by r1_pete]

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
mark chandler

posted on 19/10/15 at 07:41 PM Reply With Quote
On my DB7 i6 I removed the DMF, a whopping 38kg built up and replaced with a lightened 3.6 flywheel (22kg down to 18kg) with helix 6 finger paddle clutch with sprung centre and had professionally balanced.

Car idles if anything more smoothly, very noticeable difference in first and second (acceleration spin in first now) car feels much more lively go for it.

Pete, I also have a getrag box, the 290, if yours rattle now you must have an imbalance as a straight 6 is naturally smooth.