Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Roll bar design
Slimy38

posted on 18/4/23 at 07:23 AM Reply With Quote
Roll bar design

I'm looking at getting my roll bar sorted as a task, and I wanted to ask about the design. I have the two locations above the rear suspension for the main hoop, but the back end of my Healey bodywork doesn't give me an option for rear braces. Having said that, looking at the design of the Haynes roadster roll bar I'm still baffled how the rear braces actually provide much support, but I'm not an engineer!

If I just go for the single hoop, is there anything I can do to strengthen it in line with the car? Assuming that I can't brace it rearwards, and I want to keep the seating area as clean as possible.

It'll have the normal horizontal bar for seatbelt anchors, so hopefully that would help with any sideways movement should the worst happen.

nick205

posted on 18/4/23 at 09:45 AM Reply With Quote
I'm not an engineer in that regard either, but it appears to me a roll hoop across the vehicle needs bracing to the rear to prevent it simply folding if the vehicle flips and drags forwards or backwards.

On 7 style cars:

I've seen some hoops braced to the top of the rear tub (above the fuel tank area) this looks feeble and pointless (IMHO).

I've also seen some hoops braced to the lower part of the chassis (either side of the fuel tanke area) on to plates. This looks more effective (again (IMHO)

If your car bodywork doesn't have space for this can you moify the rear bodywork to let roll bar rear stays through?

Can you modify the chassis (beneath the bodywork) to strengthen it and raise the mounting points higher?

nick205

posted on 18/4/23 at 12:51 PM Reply With Quote
Some Cobra type cars have individual roll hoops for driver and passenger with rear braces - maybe a possible alternative for your bodfywork/chassis?

Sam_68

posted on 18/4/23 at 01:10 PM Reply With Quote