Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: First sketches --> Now 3DS :-SS??
geoffreyh

posted on 27/12/05 at 01:00 PM Reply With Quote
First sketches --> Now 3DS :-SS??

Hi everybody,

I've been really busy for my job but now I have some time to do some work on my personal project.

I'm drawing my first chassis in Solidworks and have been trying to draw something for the bodywork.

The car will have the possibility to remove the roof.

The windshield will be based on the GT40 windshield.

I hope I can draw some other sides of the car in the next days. After that I will have to draw it on my PC but I don't know which software I will be using because I'm a newbie in 3D graphical stuff.

It should be able to draw sections of the bodywork and eventually also be able to convert it to a CNC file for some parts because I will be able to use a CNC router from time to time.

Cheers,

Geoff Rescued attachment smallcargeoff.JPG
Rescued attachment smallcargeoff.JPG

tom_loughlin

posted on 27/12/05 at 02:16 PM Reply With Quote
Like the look of that, i find myself doingmore and more car sketches these days.
you mention that you will develop a series of sections - my preferred way of gettinga starting point is to start with about 10cross sections, and loft them, giving an open poly surface (or solid - if thesections are closed).
i use rhino, its not that easy to get to grips with, but once you're competent, you can model absolutely anything.

all the best

Tom

geoffreyh

posted on 27/12/05 at 03:22 PM Reply With Quote
I have a sketch for the front.
I will make sketch from the back sometime later.

Don't forget this car will have to fit for a 6 feet 8 (203cm) tall person.

Any remarks are always welcome.

Cheers,

Geoff

[Edited on 27/12/05 by geoffreyh] Rescued attachment smallcargeofffront2.JPG
Rescued attachment smallcargeofffront2.JPG

Peteff

posted on 27/12/05 at 03:37 PM Reply With Quote