Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Mazda MX5 Miata/Eunos
envy

posted on 2/1/06 at 05:01 AM Reply With Quote
Mazda MX5 Miata/Eunos

Hi all,

I've been hanging around the scene for a few years, though my project is still in the planning stage. originally it was to be a custom based on the MR2, but recently it has evolved to a new donor - the Mazda MX5. The reasons being that this car is (IMO) simpler, has all-round independent wishbone suspension already (don't have to fabricate these parts and they suit a low profile body) and it suits the shape of the car I wish to base the body on (Aston Martin AMV8). In fact if you overlay these two cars (early model MX5 and AMV8 scaled down) the cars line up almost perfectly.

I apologise if this is the wrong place, but I have a few questions!
1) Are there any good links to exisiting MX5 based projects?
2) Any photos or measurements of the MX5 chassis and important mounting points etc would be great!
3) I have heard that the Ginetta G20 is/can be Miata based. Any good G20 build sites around?

Any other information greatly appreciated. Please let me know if i am in the wrong place, or if there are other useful resources.

Shoutout to Steve Graber - It's Pea from the MR2 forums from way back

[Edited on 2/1/06 by envy]

dl_peabody

posted on 2/1/06 at 07:10 PM Reply With Quote
Keith Tanner....wrote a locost\Miata book..."How To Build a Cheap Sports Car

Plenty of pics and info on his site

http://www.cheapsportscar.net/

Flying Miata....based in the US, google the name and see what you come up with...performance parts plus other stuff...

envy

posted on 2/1/06 at 11:05 PM Reply With Quote
Thanks for that. I had heard about Keiths book, but the website link is great .
Keith Tanner

posted on 6/1/06 at 01:40 AM Reply With Quote