Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: New kitchen worktop = cutting?
Moorron

posted on 29/6/06 at 10:32 AM Reply With Quote
New kitchen worktop = cutting?

ive been fitting my new kitchen this week and so far i have found it easy. i need to cut the worktops and was wondering if anyone here knows how 'easy' it is to do. i bought myself a router but i dont know where to get the cutting jig from so i was going to use the old worktops as the jig.

any tips?

Sorry about my spelling, im an engineer and only work in numbers.

Confused but excited.

posted on 29/6/06 at 10:49 AM Reply With Quote
You can get the jigs from Screwfix.

Tell them about the bent treacle edges!

David Jenkins

posted on 29/6/06 at 10:50 AM Reply With Quote
Talk nicely to your bank manager first...

(actually - not so bad as I thought - £50 'budget' or £90 'professional' grade)

[Edited on 29/6/06 by David Jenkins]

ned

posted on 29/6/06 at 11:12 AM Reply With Quote
I couldn't bring myself to part with the money for the jig so measured it all out and did it by hand! jigsaw with the correct blade was ok but the blade flexed due to the depth of the worktop and gave an angled cut. A fine hand saw gave a good result but i think i tidied the top edge up with a sander anyway to get it all square - took a bit of fettling. I borrowed a router and bought the under worktop clamp things and just routed a double ended Y across the underside of the join and it did the job no probs.

Ned.

beware, I've got yellow skin

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
spunky

posted on 29/6/06 at 11:33 AM Reply With Quote
With the cost of the worktops, I wasnt so brave. Just bought colour coded jointing strips, easy.

The reckless man may not live as long......
But the cautious man does not live at all.....

nick205

posted on 29/6/06 at 11:56 AM Reply With Quote