Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Bedford Autodrome
John Bonnett

posted on 7/8/06 at 01:30 PM Reply With Quote
Bedford Autodrome

muzchap's post on a trackday at Bedford brought it all flooding back to me. I worked as an Instructor for Jonathan Palmer for a number of years until our move down to Devon 4 years ago put a stop to it. Working there was like every day was your Birthday and Christmas all rolled into one. Believe me I would have done the job for nothing. After spending a fortune on motorsport here I was actually getting paid to do something that I enjoyed more than anything.

I had the opportunity to drive at racing speeds a whole range of very fast and exotic machinery but my favourite was always the Caterham which in the scheme of things there was pretty humble. It generally ranked highest with the guests as well. The Caterhams had their own purpose built circuit, tight, twisty and demanding, so much fun in the wet! Before the guests arrived the Instructors would vie with each other to set the fastest lap under the guise of bedding in brakes or scrubbing the release agent off tyres! Hooning by the instructors was strictly forbidden (okay for the guests who had paid £600 + VAT) but not for us. However we had great fun as did the Chief Instructor in trying to catch us at it.

For me, it was inspirational to sit beside the likes of Justin Wilson, Oliver Gavin and a host of lads who didn't look old enough to hold a driving licence. Their car control was something one could only dream of, absolutely fantastic.

If you have an opportunity of doing a full TMS day at Bedord, I know it is expensive but you are driving for a very long time and it is worth every penny just do it. You will not regret it I promise.

Have a look at the website and tell me you are not tempted.
http://www.palmersport.com/

John

ecosse

posted on 7/8/06 at 01:36 PM Reply With Quote