Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: thinking of getting one of these benders
mr henderson

posted on 17/10/07 at 06:31 AM Reply With Quote
thinking of getting one of these benders

This looks like exactly what I need, anyone wish to comment before I go ahead and order one?

http://www.pro-tools.com/105.htm

Howlor

posted on 17/10/07 at 06:44 AM Reply With Quote
If you look on the Rorty design website you can make one very similar.

Steve

procomp

posted on 17/10/07 at 06:47 AM Reply With Quote
Hi I have no experience with that paticular pipe bender.

But PRO-TOOLS are a good company to deal with. Had a few things from them. Never a problem .

Cheers Matt

[Edited on 17/10/07 by procomp]

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
John Bonnett

posted on 17/10/07 at 06:58 AM Reply With Quote
I'm sure you realise that this is a pipe bender rather than a tube bender, great for doing a roll cage but not for other bends you need to put into ERW.

I hired a hydraulic pipe bender for a few days quite inexpensively. All the other bend, I made with the bending beam. I've shown this in my archive.

John

Howlor

posted on 17/10/07 at 07:26 AM Reply With Quote
John,

How do you stop the tube kinking with the bending beam?

Steve

jimgiblett

posted on 17/10/07 at 07:36 AM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Howlor
John,

Steve

Fill it with sand possibly?

Myke 2463

posted on 17/10/07 at 07:39 AM Reply With Quote
I used a 15mm copper pipe bending spring inside my 19mm erw tube and made a wooden former to bend round.

Worked ok 4 me & others who have used it. £1.79 screwfix wood free.

John Bonnett

posted on 17/10/07 at 08:58 AM Reply With Quote

The hole cut in the wood is a good fit for the tube at the sides. The bottom of the front side of the wood is chamfered so that the bend is made over a distance rather than at a point which would cause it to kink.