Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Bec Diff
Slider

posted on 4/12/07 at 07:07 PM Reply With Quote
Bec Diff

Hi All,

First post here, great site. There's so much info here that i need a bigger memory.

I'm missing the point somewhere along the line so maybe someone can set me right.

I'm about to build a Blade buggy type thing from scratch. The main building is not a worry as i am a welder/fabber but some would argue that, lol.
I have an old 96 Blade ready for the use of and also an Alpha gearbox/diff (33 i think) kicking around.

I understand the Alpha box has a ratio of 1:1.027 in 4th gear so isn't that virtually 'what goes in, comes out'? Why can't my Blade connect to Alpha box and leave it in 4th or reverse?

There must be a reason why folks don't do this but i can't see what it is.
Who's first to make me look daft?

Cheers,
Slider.

zxrlocost

posted on 4/12/07 at 07:09 PM Reply With Quote
hi
1 where are you going to the put the external gearbox
2 surely it weighs as much as the original bike setup?

PLEASE NOTE: This user is a trader who has not signed up for the LocostBuilders registration scheme. If this post is advertising a commercial product or service, please report it by clicking here.

Paul (Notts)

posted on 4/12/07 at 07:14 PM Reply With Quote
connecting a bike engine to a car gearbox is very difficult

you end up with lots of extra weight

TWO gearboxes - the bike one and the car

connecting from the bike engine/gearbox to a rear diff is the simlest option and the lightest ( unless you chain drive the rear axel )

bonzoronnie

posted on 4/12/07 at 07:21 PM Reply With Quote
Gearbox

Hi,

Clutch, flywheel, the problems would be endless

Ronnie

Slider

posted on 4/12/07 at 07:22 PM Reply With Quote
That was quick replying Guys.