Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: R1 clutch springs
bassett

posted on 5/12/07 at 12:00 PM Reply With Quote
R1 clutch springs

Hi im quite new to bike engines and ive heard a lot of people using different clutch springs. Could anyone tell me the advantages of fitting them, who sells them, would anyone recommend them for an R1(02-03) and how would you replace them on this engine?
thanks in advance
Adam

BenB

posted on 5/12/07 at 01:27 PM Reply With Quote
Most people recommend the OEM part. Some people go for Barnett springs. A lot of spare part places sell the EBC springs which have a reputation for being extra stiff the first couple of times you use them but quickly get effected by the heat and end up being soft and soggy....
fesycresy

posted on 5/12/07 at 02:48 PM Reply With Quote
The R1 uses a diaphragm spring.

I just used two springs (one over the top of the other) as opposed to the standard one.

I think the Barnett uses 6 or 8 seperate coil springs, but stand to be corrected.

HTH.

Lyn.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The sooner you fall behind, the more time you'll have to catch up.

fesycresy

posted on 5/12/07 at 02:54 PM Reply With Quote
Just noticed about fitting...

...from memory (a bad one) drop the oil, take the casing off, nut off the end of the spring, double up on the spring, nut back on, casing back on (new gasket), fill with oil to sight glass - plus overfill of 250ml on mine.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The sooner you fall behind, the more time you'll have to catch up.

jkarran

posted on 5/12/07 at 04:52 PM Reply With Quote
That's an interesting idea using two springs in the R1.

Did you grease between them or do they work ok dry?

What's the difference between single spring and double in terms of bite, pedal feel, slippage etc?