Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: which bike engine to use?
mads

posted on 17/7/08 at 10:12 AM Reply With Quote
which bike engine to use?

Hi all,
I'm completely new to the kitcar scene so I apologise in advance for any 'dumb' questions I may ask.

Just wondered why the Fireblade and R1 engines are more commonly used in BECs? Is it simply because they are more easily available or is it something specific about the engines?
The reason I ask is that I was planning on using a GSXR engine (in a MK Indy) but want to make sure that its not going to cause me any problems when building.

The plan is to use the car on the road and on the track - not done track days before but do you have to have a dry sump?

Any advice or suggestion would be greatly appreciated!

We gain knowledge faster than we do wisdom!

Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, thoroughly used, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming... "f*ck, what a trip!"

eznfrank

posted on 17/7/08 at 10:25 AM Reply With Quote
there are quite a few gixxer indy's out there so wouldn't have thought there would be too many issues. Think blade and r1's tend to be a bit cheaper that's all.
Mr Whippy

posted on 17/7/08 at 10:31 AM Reply With Quote

Fame is when your old car is plastered all over the internet

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Andy W

posted on 17/7/08 at 10:43 AM Reply With Quote
You won't go wrong with this fazer engine.
http://www.locostbuilders.co.uk/viewthread.php?tid=93434

Andy

ko_racer

posted on 17/7/08 at 10:46 AM Reply With Quote
Especially if it's the 5VY marked one as a change of cams for R1 jobbies will give it the same power as an 04/06 r1. The head, barrel, pistons etc are the same as R1's except for being a different colour.