Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Making my MK 'useable' (pics) (LOTS OF!)
iscmatt
Contributor

Posts 1929
Registered 30/3/06
Location York

Photo Archive Go!
Building: - BUILT - 2.0 pinto indy, Kent Cam, zzr1100 carbs

posted on 13/8/08 at 04:35 PM Reply With Quote
Making my MK 'useable' (pics) (LOTS OF!)

I know we all like pics so this is my first attempt at making a kind of project thread to show you guys what i manged yesterday!

Had the MK on the road now for a year this month. its done around 1600 miles including a trackday at Croft.

After going to Newark kit car show and seeing the hood on the MK on there stand i was one of those very interested in purchasing and making my indy all the more useable.

I'm going from 3 to 2 cars and want to keep the indy so making it more useable is a must!!

SO,

Firstly - Unfortunatley i've no pics of putting on the windscreen (bought from MK) but its in the pics.

items purchased for wiper assembley

Mini wiper motor assembly
Mini Stainless wiper arms and blades
Washer bottle and pump

all from eBay

The first step was to reduce the size of the mini motor arm as the bezels were to far apart, these where then marked and holes drilled into the scuttle and the motor attached to chassis

Unfortunatley I put my battery tray in behind the lip of the scuttle so ihad to take the scuttle off as well, only a 10 min job though.

Wiper motor in

The Bracket

top view

Not much table space left

Wiper arms. The arms I got of eBay were far to long, as the blades went of the screen!!!
They have been reduced immensely and mean that I can use the 10 inch blades that came with the arms instead of getting 8 inch blades. This has the added bonus of getting extra coverage of the screen, I would estimate I’m getting a good 90% - 95% coverage with the blades, after a little fettling, shaping and twisting the arms so the screen will be awesomely clear when its raining!