Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Pinto to duratec? Using type 9
Shaunk10

posted on 12/5/14 at 10:13 PM Reply With Quote
Pinto to duratec? Using type 9

I know this has been done to death but,

I really don't want to sound too stupid, I have spent ages now looking on the threads and websites but have yet to find a step by step guide or anything to really help me out

Now I have limited knowledge and skill.

I'm running a sierra dif and type 9 gearbox with the pinto engine all from a 1983 sierra estate.

I do really need to have the exhaust still leaving down the right hand side of the car as it is at the moment.

So what I have found is an alloy bell housing which connects the type 9 to a duratec engine £200
I have also found a spigot bearing for the gearbox shaft? Not sure if it's needed or what but that's £13

At home I have a inlet manifold I planned on fitting to my pinto and then fitting bike carbs (which I never bothered to do)
Now without sounding stupid can I carry on fitting this manifold to the new duratec engine, and would this then allow me to fit some bike throttle bodies (again I take it these are basically fuel injected carbs?).

How would all the electronics work out? Would I have to scrap all the electronics from under the dash? So all the old sierra dials and cables? And then replace them with a new type of dash from a donor car with the duratec engine? Would this make everything easier?

Would the new ecu just wire up to the battery? What about immobilisers etc?

Thanks for any help again

se7ensport

posted on 12/5/14 at 10:26 PM Reply With Quote
For a parts list see this thread:

http://www.locostbuilders.co.uk/viewthread.php?tid=156937

One of my lasts posts:

"Engine conversion is now complete; I'd hoped it would take 2mths, instead it was just shy of 10mths and budget went over by 40%!