Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Chassis modification
carlknight1982

posted on 20/3/08 at 11:35 AM Reply With Quote
Chassis modification

Hi guys, im a newbie here,

Ive brought a 99% complete ron champion chassis of Ebay and want to modify it for sierra running gear ie IRS and sierra front hubs etc, just wondering if anyone had done this and if they hit any major issues.

thanks in advance

Carl

Mr Whippy

posted on 20/3/08 at 11:40 AM Reply With Quote
how is your welding? You could buy Chris's IRS locost book and use that as the base for the conversion. Plenty of good quality pictures and plans in there, all you need really.

here's a link to his home page, plenty of tips on there

http://www.gibbs111.fsnet.co.uk/

[Edited on 20/3/08 by Mr Whippy]

Fame is when your old car is plastered all over the internet

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
nib1980

posted on 20/3/08 at 11:42 AM Reply With Quote
why do you want to run IRS? the live axle is easier and nicer in my opinion.
Mr Whippy

posted on 20/3/08 at 11:45 AM Reply With Quote
oh oh now it's going to be a unsprung weight debate

Fame is when your old car is plastered all over the internet

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
ditchlewis

posted on 20/3/08 at 11:51 AM Reply With Quote
Welcome Carl

Mr Whippys right just get the new roadster book and make the necessary changes from the plans in that book.

ditch

iank

posted on 20/3/08 at 11:52 AM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Mr Whippy
oh oh now it's going to be a unsprung weight debate

Is this going to be for a BEC or a CEC, and what sized wheels

p.s. Adding IRS to a chassis designed for a live axle is a lot of pain for little to no improvement in handling. In some cases performance is actually made worse.