Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Newbie mid engined project
Blacktop

posted on 5/11/07 at 03:29 PM Reply With Quote
Newbie mid engined project

Hello, Newbie here so be kind

I am going to be building a mid-engined buggy probably powered by either a 1.4 or 1.6 Rover K-Series. The buggy is not intended for track use so decided against a BEC.
I have an idea for the body which will be a hacked up & modified beach buggy shell.
Here are some rough pics of ideas for the chassis. I am also still learning Sketchup so these may improve as time goes by.

ChassisFront
ChassisFront

ChassisMiddle
ChassisMiddle

ChassisRear
ChassisRear

Spyderman

posted on 7/11/07 at 12:58 PM Reply With Quote
Hi Blacktop and welcome.

Your buggy sounds interesting and is something I have considered many times, being a beech buggy fan.

I am assuming your chassis is meant to be a more modern version of the VW floorpan?
If so, how are you planning on mounting the body to the chassis?
At least you will have the luxury of having removable side panels.

I'd also be interested how you hope to wheel your buggy? Traditionally buggys have at least 15 inch rims with high profile fat rubber on them.
What about gearing/gearbox options? Typical old Beetle gearing is very low for low power high torque engines.
Not insurmountable problems I'm sure, but just curious how far you have planned. The last two questions being closely related.

I look forward to seeing how your car progresses!

p.s. Just a minor note on your chassis pics.
You need to put triangulations into junctions, not the middle of straight runs. Have a look at others chassis renditions and you will see what I mean.
If your central tunnel is meant to be a structural aspect then you will need to triangulate it into the chassis front and rear. If you just want it as a conduit for gear linkage etc then fine, but you may as well make it structural.